Brand's Logo
Land Bank of the Philippines /
Posted 5 days ago

LIVE: The Dagyaw 2020: Open Government Virtual Town Hall Meeting spearheaded by the Participatory Governance Cluster of the Cabinet (PGC) takes place this day, 15 October 2020. ‘Dagyaw’ is a Hiligaynon term for ‘togetherness’. The event is branded under this word to exemplify the Filipino spirit of ‘bayanihan’. It is a series of town hall meetings initiated pursuant to Executive Order No. 24 signed on May 2017 that is geared towards the mandate of the PGC in ensuring the direct participation of various stakeholders in the formulation of programs and policies to address emergent governance concerns at the grassroots level and in initiating projects that shall facilitate citizen empowerment and participation in governance in the national, regional and local levels. In the previous Dagyaw participatory governance meetings and town hall meetings, government officials met face-to-face with stakeholders to discuss governance matters. With the emergence of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic, these meetings are re-conceptualized to adapt to the new normal. In observance of the required health protocols and limitations to travel and conduct mass gatherings, this year’s Dagyaw utilizes various civic technology and online platforms, hence the virtual town hall meetings. The Dagyaw 2020 is anchored on the objectives of the National Task Force (NTF) Against COVID-19 Sub-Task Group on Governance aimed at building mutual trust between the government and the Filipino people by providing an open, protected and neutral space for dialogues on key national and local issues and plans amid the public health crisis. Outcomes from these dialogues shall serve as key references of the government in public decision-making and in formulating policies for better public sector performance and service delivery. The conduct of these series of events are led by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) and Department of Budget and Management (DBM) with support coming from the Office of the President (OP), Office of the Cabinet Secretary (OCS) and different national government agencies.

Advertisement /
Advertisement /

Start typing